Our network

Tri-Cities HS dominates Shuler Hensley Awards | Arts & Culture

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Tri-Cities HS dominates Shuler Hensley Awards
Tri-Cities HS dominates Shuler Hensley Awards

(WXIA) -- The 2014 Georgia High School Musical Theater Awards, otherwise known as the Shuler Hensley Awards, were held Thursday night, with one Fulton County school scoring the majority of the honors.

Tri-Cities High School's production of Dreamgirls crushed the competition. It won a whopping 13 awards, including Best Musical, Best Director and all the acting prizes.

Milton High School's Legally Blonde won two awards, while Pebblebrook High School's Les Misérables and Wesleyan School's Into the Woods each took home one.

Six students also received special Shuler Scholarships at the ceremony, which took place at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre.

See this year's nominees. The winners are:

Best Musical
Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Director
Robert Connor, Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Actor
Rubin Barksdale ("Curtis Taylor, Jr."), Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Actress
Jai'len Josey ("Effie White"), Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Supporting Actor
Elyakeem Avraham ("James 'Thunder' Early"), Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Supporting Actress
Katherine Taylor ("Deena Jones"), Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Featured Performer
Kennedy Bright ("Lorell Robinson"), Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Ensemble
Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Showstopper
Les Misérables, Pebblebrook HS

Best Orchestra
Tarik Rowland, Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Choreography
Dawn Axam, Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Costume Design
Veta Roots, Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Music Direction
Warren Lankford, Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Technical Direction
Sim Jones, Legally Blonde, Milton HS

Best Sound Design
Andrew Strayhorn and Michael Broyles, Into the Woods, Wesleyan School

Best Scenic Design
Korey Washington, Dreamgirls, Tri-Cities HS

Best Lighting Design
Sim Jones, Legally Blonde, Milton HS

This year's Shuler Scholarship recipients are Dylan Boyd (Harlem HS), Briyanna Brinson (Langston Hughes HS), Tracey Buot (Cambridge HS), Brooke Rucker (Woodland HS), Madison Tankersley (Buford HS) and Anisa Threlkeld (The Lovett School).

Learn more about the Shuler Hensley Awards at shulerawards.org.